Quick Review (LP): Out Of Our Heads (UK) by The Rolling Stones

The Rolling Stones
Out Of Our Heads (UK)
Decca; 1965

My Rating: C+ (60/100)

Best Tracks: "She Said Yeah", "Mercy Mercy", "Heart of Stone", "I’m Free"

The one that portends of great things to come.


  • Wow, "She Said Yeah" makes me think this is the band’s great leap forward. And "Mercy Mercy" is a strong way to follow it up.
  • Of course, it has its share of catchy but otherwise forgettable mid-60’s pop fare too. ("Hitch Hike", "Cry To Me", "Good Times")
  • "That’s How Strong My Love Is" rocks pretty hard.
  • "Heart of Stone" – good track. Duh.
  • The band hints at things to come on the last 3 here. "Heart of Stone" is fairly well known, "Promo Man" sends up the music industry, and "I’m Free" is one of their most recognizable tracks.
  • Love the guitar tone on "I’m Free."
  • Oh yeah, and you’ve got to appreciate the band keeping in Charlie Watts’ drum flub on the closer. They were really churning these things out back then, huh?
  • What can I really say? The one before they struck gold. Sort of forgettable.

Cohesion (3.5/5)
Concept (3/5)
Consequence (4.5/5)
Consistency (4/5)
Songs (4/5)