Quick Review (LP): Josh Ritter by Josh Ritter

Josh Ritter
Josh Ritter
Self-Released; 1999

My Rating: C (49/100)

Best Tracks: "Leaves and Kings", "Beautiful Night", "Potter’s Wheel", "Letter from Omaha"

A shaky debut that holds more interest as an historical document than an enjoyable record.

– Well, it sounds amateur-ish, but it’s certainly above average amateur work.
– Three names always get thrown around with Ritter: Dylan, Prine, and Cohen. They are perhaps most typified here, where he seems as if he’s imitating them distinctively on specific tracks.
– I wonder what this collection of songs would sound like re-recorded with Ritter’s current band? Could be an interesting experiment.
– I think Ritter took the Dylan route more than the Prine route, and I think that was a good thing for him. Witness "Angels On Her Shoulders."
– Like the cello on "Potter’s Wheel."
– Does Ritter ever play these songs live anymore? He didn’t when I saw him last year.
– Overall, there are some promising tunes here, but as I said before, this certainly sounds like a (talented) kid discovering his guitar and voice for the first time. Greener pastures awaited him.

Concept (3/5)
Consistency (4/5)
Consequence (3/5)
Cohesion (4/5)
Songs (3.5/5)