Quick Review (LP): Those Who Tell the Truth…by Explosions in the Sky

Explosions In The Sky
Those Who Tell The Truth Shall Die, Those Who Tell The Truth Shall Live Forever
Temporary Residence Limited; 2001

My Rating: B (68/100)

Best Tracks: "Greet Death", "The Moon Is Down"

Standing on the edge…


  • Whereas their debut was all about landscapes and the wonder of the open sky, this one is overwhelmingly mortal and full of dread.
  • Opens in a hardcore wash. “Helloooo…..”
  • They are a bit tighter here than on their first effort, but they still haven’t PERFECTED that sound.
  • This is their most punk record, in the sense of it not being afraid to rush headlong into musical mayhem at times. At the very least, that causes this record to stand out for me.
  • Nice sample from The Thin Red Line on "Have You Passed Through This Night?" That rifle shot about scared the ghost out of me.
  • There’s no centerpiece here, and this is not their best effort in terms of coaxing amazing sounds out of their guitars. Still, it is a powerful record at times, and it’s certainly worth exploring.
  • It’s certainly appropriate to call this a fated record, what with the band’s name, the album cover, the liner note ("This plane will crash tomorrow"), the release date just prior to 9/11. It’s funny how many indie rock milestones coincide with that day. Wonder if we are just so sensitive to it that everything seems a coincidence? Still, you gotta admit it’s spooky.
  • Pitchfork really likes this one. And, oh yeah, this has got to be the most record reviewing-est record review I’ve ever read. All the big words = smart dude, right?

Cohesion (5/5)
Consequence (4/5)
Consistency (3.5/5)
Concept (4.5/5)
Songs (4/5)

Quick Review (LP): How Strange, Innocence by Explosions in the Sky

Explosions in the Sky
How Strange, Innocence
Sad Loud America; 2000

My Rating: A (86/100)

Best Tracks: "A Song For Our Fathers", "Magic Hours", "Look Into The Air", "Remember Me As A Time Of Day"

The humble, 8mm beginnings of the blockbuster post-rock instrumentalists.

  • Although their sound isn’t fully developed yet, "A Song For Our Fathers" shows that they know where they want to go in terms of mood.
  • They don’t sound HUGE  and GLORIOUS yet, but they sound more than competent, and their vision shines through.
  • "Look Into The Air" is gorgeous.
  • If I could rename this record, I might call it "Songs of the Noble Slacker."
  • I really love the elemental nature of this album. From the song titles, obsessed as they are with light, dark, sky, and time, to the music, all percussion and chiming guitar, each of the tracks here is like its own strand of thought, hard rock haiku if you will.
  • Landscape rock hasn’t sounded this good since Another Green World.
  • The first in an unbroken streak of brilliant and beautiful album covers.

Cohesion (5/5)
Consistency (4.5/5)
Concept (5/5)
Consequence (4.5/5)
Songs (4.5/5)