Quick Review (LP): Demolition by Ryan Adams

Ryan Adams
Lost Highway; 2002

My Rating: B+ (79/100)

Best Tracks: "Nuclear", "Hallelujah", "Desire", "Tennessee Sucks", "Tomorrow", "Chin Up Cheer Up"

Tuneful and raw, one of his better early records.


  • "This is where the summer ends/In a flash of pure destruction no one wins…" Brilliant.
  • "Nuclear" is one of my favorite Adams tunes, and one of the most original sounding.
  • "Hallelujah" is another great one. Gorgeous melody, and so effortless.
  • "Desire" – another great tune.
  • I don’t know what it is, but even lesser tracks like "Cry On Demand" just sound better than your average cut from his first two records (esp. Gold). Honestly, I think they are stronger melodies.
  • I can attest to the fact that "Tennessee Sucks" in the summer, mostly cuz it’s hot and humid.
  • "Tomorrow" is one gorgeous weeper. Female vocals by Carrie Hamilton, who’s story is here.
  • How can you not love "Chin Up Cheer Up"?
  • Musically, Adams has a strange personality. It’s a bit confounding how he goes from high speed hard rockers to hushed and paced weepers with so little effort. It works though.
  • Never really understood why Ry’ was so down on this album. In my book, it’s one of his best, and it features some truly great tunes. It sounds natural, effortless, completely unforced and enjoyable. I think it’s something about his label forcing a new release culled from disparate recording sessions or something like that. In my opinion, they did him a favor here, because this contains some of his best early work.

Cohesion (4.5/5)
Concept (4/5)
Consequence (4.5/5)
Consistency (4.5/5)
Songs (4.5/5)