Quick Review (LP): C’mon by Low

Sub Pop; 2011

My Rating: C (51/100)

Best Tracks: "Try to Sleep", "Witches", "Nightingale", "Something’s Turning Over"

Sounds like chicken, tastes like Low.

– With Low, you’re never really sure whether they are making a grand statement or just doing what they do best.
– "Majesty/Magic" is the type of track that would really benefit from some new instrumentation. I feel like the band isn’t really pushing themselves to try something new.
– "Witches" is cool – sounds like it means business – and nice banjo.
– Love the eerie vibe on "Nightingale."
– "Something’s Turning Over" is a nifty new approach for the band.
– Low’s greatest strength threatens, of course, to become their greatest weakness. They come perilously close to creative monotony on this record, with many of their huge, brassy slo-core composition threatening to thud redundantly. Low, perhaps, needs a revolution in sound, or at least a new lease on songwriting.
– From the way this Pitchfork review reads, I think Low albums need to be approached in the same way as a fine wines. You have to be ready and willing to detect the subtle notes. But I’m wondering if it’s really time for Low to branch out? The last paragraph sums up how I view the record, but with this many albums in, I’m starting to wonder if the band’s innovative shelf life has expired.

Cohesion (4/5)
Concept (3/5)
Consequence (3.5/5)
Consistency (4/5)
Songs (3.5/5)