Quick Review (LP): 29 by Ryan Adams


Ryan Adams
29
Lost Highway; 2005

My Rating: C+ (60/100)

Best Tracks: "29", "Nightbirds", "Starlite Diner"

Reelin’ in the years?

NOTES

  • The opener is an epic, roadhouse-style romper. Great guitar and vocals. Pretty great track.
  • "Nightbirds" smacks of Radiohead towards the end.
  • "Starlite Diner" is understated and gorgeous, but it might just put you to sleep.
  • "The Sadness" – not so sure this style works for Ryan. A little too dramatic, feels a bit out of place here.
  • There is a dark atmosphere to this record, similar to Love Is Hell. However, I don’t think this one quite has the same magic.
  • After the huge rock sound of the opener, things get very quiet and meditative. Honestly, tracks 2 thru 6 are lovely, but a little boring. Your going to need a good pair of speakers or headphones to get the intended effect. I’m guessing they’d sound really nice on vinyl though.
  • I think 29 would make a good vinyl listen on a quiet, rainy Saturday morning. It’s sort of lovely, but really slow and difficult to penetrate.
  • I like Adams’ concept, but I do wonder if his twenties were really this much of a downer? I mean, seriously, the guy was the toast of indie rock during that period.
  • In my humble opinion, Adams needs to stay away from Ethan Johns. That dude tones him down in all the wrong ways. I haven’t liked any of the albums they’ve done together.
  • I still haven’t really made up my mind about this one. On one hand, I find it terribly dull. On the other, I feel like it’s a grower with a little patience and attention.
  • Best album cover he’s had. It forebodeth for sure.

ATTRIBUTES
Cohesion (4/5)
Consistency (3/5)
Consequence (3.5/5)
Concept (4.5/5)
Songs (4/5)

One Response to Quick Review (LP): 29 by Ryan Adams

  1. Pingback: Career In Brief: Ryan Adams « Sweet Georgia Breezes

Leave a Reply

