Quick Review (LP): Circuital by My Morning Jacket


My Morning Jacket
Circuital
ATO; 2011

My Rating: C (53/100)

Best Tracks: "Circuital", "The Day Is Coming", "Wonderful (The Way I Feel)"


Don’t call it a comeback.

NOTES

  • I can’t decide whether I like "Victory Dance" or not. It just seems a little goofy or something.
  • "Circuital" is a cool track, sort of Who-esque. Is it strong enough to be the album’s centerpiece? I don’t think so.
  • I like "The Day Is Coming", but I’m just not that in to the soul rock thing as a whole.
  • "Wonderful (The Way I Feel)" comes off like a re-write of "Thank You Too." To be fair, they are both beautiful tunes, and I like them.
  • For the life of me, I just don’t get "Holdin’ on to Black Metal." What’s the deal?
  • When I think of the glories of At Dawn, It Still Moves, and Z, this one begins to hurt. Really hurt.
  • I hate to say this, but too often this record seems schmaltzy. How can this be the same guy who made the Chocolate & Ice EP?
  • I am not an Evil Urges hater, but I do agree that it was a step in the wrong direction for the band. I don’t think this record is the needed course correction. Instead, as a genuine and long-standing fan it just makes me wonder: Where is Jim James headed?
  • In all honesty, I want to see JJ take a step back from the rock and roll theatrics and create something lo-fi and brilliant, something akin to the work he did in his dorm room with a four-track in the late 90’s. After all, that scenario produced an A+ record.

ATTRIBUTES
Cohesion (4/5)
Concept (4/5)
Consequence (4/5)
Consistency (3/5)
Songs (3.5/5)

One Response to Quick Review (LP): Circuital by My Morning Jacket

  1. Pingback: Top Albums 2011: Honorable Mention « Sweet Georgia Breezes

Leave a Reply

