Quick Review (LP): The Rolling Stones by The Rolling Stones


The Rolling Stones
The Rolling Stones
Decca; 1964

My Rating: B (74/100)

Best Tracks: "Route 66", "Honest I Do", "Now I’ve Got A Witness", "Tell Me", "Walking the Dog"

Teeny-bop blues?

NOTES

  • Pretty impressive blues/R&B for a bunch of white British kids.
  • Keith’s guitar just sounds so magical here.
  • That’s some mighty fine bass playing on "Now I’ve Got A Witness."
  • The first time through it sounds a bit dated, but after several listens, I’d say a better term is "vintage."
  • Even when the songs are cookie cutter, the band’s performances are so spirited that they bring the tunes up a level.
  • Still, the greatest thing about the Stones was their songs. Not much of those here. This is an above average early rock and roll record, but a bit typical, at least to my ears.
  • "Walking the Dog" is a cool tune. That’s some pretty impressive whistlin’ there too.
  • Just a hunch, but I’m guessing this was a bit of an inspiration for Highway 61 Revisited?
  • I’ve never been one for "cover" records. However, this is a good cover record. I can see why the Stones blew up so big. I keep thinking that this is what the early punk bands were trying to get back to in the late 70’s. Catchy, concise, no frills rock and roll. A definite keeper, this.

AMG review

ATTRIBUTES
Cohesion (4.5/5)
Concept (4/5)
Consequence (5/5)
Consistency (5/5)
Songs (4/5)

Leave a Reply

