Quick Review (LP): Nine Types of Light by TV on the Radio


TV on the Radio
Nine Types of Light
Interscope; 2011

My Rating: B (72/100)

Best Tracks: "Second Song", "No Future Shock", "Killer Crane", "Repetition"

Wherein experimentalism means the “Second Song” comes first.

NOTES:

– "Second Song" is pretty catchy, I could see this getting serious radio play. Almost reminds me of P. Gabe’s "Sledgehammer", but not quite as amazing.
– "Killer Crane" is great. The banjo is a sweet flourish.
-  "No Future Shock" is a powerful cut. Definitely worth some repeated listens.
– My biggest problem with TVOTR is the dude’s voice. It just doesn’t have a lot of dimension or a lot of power.  However, I will say that I appreciate the fact that he doesn’t try and hide the fact with a lot of processing and effects. And, he does do some pretty great things with what he’s got.
– Some of the tracks remind me of the Broken Bells record ("Will Do"). That is, they are a bit slow, dull, and melodically narrow.
– "Repetition" is startling – pretty great lyrics…
– At first, I wasn’t crazy about this record. The sound of TVOTR is not the easiest to get into, and I am convinced that they still haven’t made a record as strong as their debut. However, this is a good record with some pretty great tracks. I think I will revisit it a few more times this year, and it seems to me that it is likely a grower.
– What are the Nine Types of Light?
– Conceptually, dense, but somewhat impenetrable. I’ll give it the benefit of the doubt, cuz I know theez catz iz thinkaz.
– I’m sure I will be returning to this. : )

ATTRIBUTES
Cohesion (5/5)
Consistency (4/5)
Consequence (4/5)
Concept (5/5)
Songs (4/5)

2 Responses to Quick Review (LP): Nine Types of Light by TV on the Radio

  1. Michael says:

    Your rating makes no fucking sense.

Leave a Reply

