Quick Review (LP): The Long Surrender by Over The Rhine


over the rhine the long surrender Over The Rhine
The Long Surrender
Great Speckled Dog; 2011

My Rating: B+

Best Tracks: “The Laugh of Recognition”, “Infamous Love Song”, “Oh Yeah By The Way”, “Days Like This”, “Rave On”

Let me be honest: it’s been a struggle to get my bearings with this record. The band scored a couple of no-doubt triumphs mid-decade with Ohio and Drunkard’s Prayer, but their last one, The Trumpet Child, never quite grabbed me in the same way. The Long Surrender has, so far, left me with the same feeling. By my own reckoning, the best I could do was to see this as a hybrid of DP‘s intimate chamber folk and The Trumpet Child‘s hope-against-hope spirituals. I didn’t think that was enough, so I decided to read the liner notes. The album’s producer, Joe Henry, mentioned two of his own takeaways that stuck with me. The first came from the tattoo on Karin Bergquist‘s arm: “Comparison is the thief of joy.” The second came from the memory of Linford Detwiler: “Leave the edges wild.” Sage words, I’d say. There’s some deep magic about this duo that urges you to stay the course. There aren’t any “wow!” moments here in the way of “Spark” or “Jesus In New Orleans”, but I think I know what Karin would have to say about comparing past efforts with those of today. The “fuzzy wuzzy” moment may seem a bit cringeworthy on “Only God Can Save Us Now”, but I’ll keep Linford’s admonishment in mind. Gratitude should always come first, even for a music snob, and I’m thankful that a band like Over The Rhine even exists, and that they allowed us in on great tunes like “The Laugh of Recognition” and “Oh Yeah By The Way.” Still, I’d have to say the record’s defining moment is the Kim Taylor-penned “Days Like This.” The no frills chorus – “All I want to do is live my life honestly” – drives right to the heart of what it seems to me Over The Rhine is all about. When all is said and done, it might just be that what Bergquist and Detwiler have given us is their most honest record yet, one that revels in the teensy, quiet victories that keep us all afloat.

Stereo Subversion review
My review of Good Dog Bad Dog

2 Responses to Quick Review (LP): The Long Surrender by Over The Rhine

  1. Pingback: Listening Log: “The Long Surrender” by Over the Rhine « Sweet Georgia Breezes

  2. Pingback: Top Albums 2011: Honorable Mention « Sweet Georgia Breezes

Leave a Reply

