Quick Review (LP): This Is Happening by LCD Soundsystem


lcd soundsystem this is happening LCD Soundsystem
This Is Happening
DFA Records; 2010

My Rating: A

Best Tracks: “Dance Yourself Clean”, “All I Need”, “I Can Change”, “Pow Pow”

Really didn’t want to like this one, but you see that I do. Hands down one of the best records this year. The scale reminds me of the truly great massive pop classics of the early 80’s, stuff by folks like Talking Heads and Michael Jackson. The most impressive thing is the epic-ness of this pop music. Most of these songs are long, but I think that’s due more to Murphy’s sense of structure than anything else. These are songs that take you somewhere, from a tantalizing beginning right on through to a stadium-sized climax. Plus, these songs are fun and catchy right to the core. I’d say that with this one, Murphy has become one of pop music’s doctors. He gets the utter silliness and the sheer thrill of it all from track to track, and I’d be willing to bet that he’s one of the best frontmen that we’ve seen in some time. All in all, This Is Happening is one of those records that I’m going to need to really dive into, not because I don’t get it, but because I really think I do.

Pitchfork review
Metacritic review

Leave a Reply

