Quick Review (LP): Transference by Spoon


spoon transference Spoon
Transference
Merge; 2010

My Rating: C+

Best Tracks: “The Mystery Zone”, “Got Nuffin”

I’m not going to say that I just don’t get it, because I do. Spoon’s minimalist aesthetic can work to powerful effect. The band has nailed it in the past, especially on Girls Can Tell and Ga Ga Ga. Still, I just can’t help but think that Britt Daniel sounds a little bit bored here, and that Transference feels like the band is marking time. There’s no grand pop statement like “The Underdog” here, nothing beyond the stylish black and blue shades that we’ve come to expect. I don’t want the band to sell out, but I know that deep down they’ve got the ability to dress up some of these tracks with a little more melody and a little more wit. I know I’m the only one putting this out there, but I’m wondering if the career of Spoon hasn’t run its course?

Metacritic reviews
Pitchfork review

Leave a Reply

