Quick Review (EP): My Neighbor/My Creator by Wye Oak


wye-oak-neighbor-creator-cover-art Wye Oak
My Neighbor/My Creator EP
Merge; 2010

My Rating: A-

Best Tracks: “I Hope You Die”, “My Neighbor”

Very nice. “I Hope You Die” was already one of my favorite tracks of the year, and the first three songs are all done really well. Jenn Wasner has a great voice, and the band comes off like a Beach House/Tiny Vipers hybrid, a good thing all around. Again, I’m impressed by the strength of these four songs. I will plan on exploring the rest of their releases after hearing this. My one complaint is that I could have done without the last track, “That I Do”, an indie-rap-folk hybrid of sorts. They just don’t make it work, and it comes off a little silly. Thankfully, it is situated at the end of the playlist, which means that it can be safely ignored. That being said, My Neighbor/My Creator is one of the best EP’s of the year. Highly recommended.

Band Myspace site
Pitchfork review

2 Responses to Quick Review (EP): My Neighbor/My Creator by Wye Oak

  1. Pingback: Best of 2010 (EP): Extended Players « Sweet Georgia Breezes

  2. Pingback: Quick Review (LP): Civilian by Wye Oak « Sweet Georgia Breezes

Leave a Reply

