Quick Review (LP): Penny Sparkle by Blonde Redhead


pennysparkle200 Blonde Redhead
Penny Sparkle
4AD; 2010

My Rating: C

Best Tracks: “Here Sometimes”

Maybe I should better familiarize myself with their back catalog before I cast judgment on their latest LP. However, I own a copy of 23, which is pretty good, and this doesn’t measure up to 23. I think more than anything this explains why so many bands spend a good deal of time trying to re-invent themselves between records. There’s just not a lot here that doesn’t pass by in a sort of mundane haze. I’ve given this one a C, which, when I was in school, meant average, and I don’t want to grade on a sliding scale. This one sounds like an average indie band making an average indie record. I wish I had better things to say about it, but unfortunately it fell flat on my ears.

Pitchfork review
Paste review
Metacritic reviews
Band website

Leave a Reply

