Dinosaur Jr.: Beyond (2007)


Dinosaur Jr.
Beyond; 2007
Fat Possum Records
My Rating: 82/100
Huzzah – another indie legend gets the band back together. By 2007, after reunions by Pixies, Slint, and every other 80’s/90’s act that could possibly swing it, a new Dinosaur Jr. record barely registered with me. And why would it? With a few exceptions, I never really dug the OLD Lou-era stuff, and only bona-fide classics like “Out There,” “Start Choppin’,” and “Get Me” made a dent with me in the mid-90’s. Well, this here record is proof-positive that hype CAN be a good thing, as I finally gave this one a shot round about early 2009 and was surprised to find one beefcake of a record. Seriously, upon investigating the band’s back catalog, I don’t think they ever made a record as consistent and cohesive as this. “Crumble” tugs the heartstrings like only the best hard rockers can, and late album beauties like “We’re Not Alone” and “I Got Lost” avoid Mascis’ tendancy to frontload the best tracks. Barlow’s contributions are good too, especially “Back To Your Heart”, a big, melodic, mid-tempo sludgefeast. (It’s kinda funny to think about the subtext there – “Back to your heart, J.” Awwwww….) Dinosaur Jr. have truly distinguished themselves by reuniting and delivering what fans really want – a second go at making records. And what a record! As far as indie reunions go, that means Dinosaur Jr. gets my award for best of the decade.
Cohesion (4.5/5)
Concept (5/5)
Consequence (4.5/5)
Consistency (4/5)
Tracks
1. Almost Ready (5/5)
2. Crumble (5/5)
3. Pick Me Up (4/5)
4. Back to Your Heart (5/5)
5. This is All I Came to Do (4/5)
6. Been There All the Time (4.5/5)
7. It’s Me (5/5)
8. We’re Not Alone (5/5)
9. I Got Lost (5/5)
10. Lightning Bulb (3.5/5)
11. What If I Knew (4/5)

DinosaurBeyondDinosaur Jr.
Beyond; 2007
Fat Possum Records

My Rating: 82/100

Huzzah – another indie legend gets the band back together. By 2007, after reunions by Pixies, Slint, and every other 80’s/90’s act that could possibly swing it, a new Dinosaur Jr. record barely registered with me. And why would it? With a few exceptions, I never really dug the OLD Lou-era stuff, and only bona-fide classics like “Out There,” “Start Choppin’,” and “Get Me” made a dent with me in the mid-90’s. Well, this here record is proof-positive that hype CAN be a good thing, as I finally gave this one a shot round about early 2009 and was surprised to find one beefcake of a record. Seriously, upon investigating the band’s back catalog, I don’t think they ever made a record as consistent and cohesive as this. “Crumble” tugs the heartstrings like only the best hard rockers can, and late album beauties like “We’re Not Alone” and “I Got Lost” avoid Mascis’ tendancy to frontload the best tracks. Barlow’s contributions are good too, especially “Back To Your Heart”, a big, melodic, mid-tempo sludgefeast. (It’s kinda funny to think about the subtext there – “Back to your heart, J.” Awwwww….) Dinosaur Jr. have truly distinguished themselves by reuniting and delivering what fans really want – a second go at making records. And what a record! As far as indie reunions go, that means Dinosaur Jr. gets my award for best of the decade.

Cohesion (4.5/5)
Concept (5/5)
Consequence (4.5/5)
Consistency (4/5)

Tracks:

1. Almost Ready (5/5)
2. Crumble (5/5)
3. Pick Me Up (4/5)
4. Back to Your Heart (5/5)
5. This is All I Came to Do (4/5)
6. Been There All the Time (4.5/5)
7. It’s Me (5/5)
8. We’re Not Alone (5/5)
9. I Got Lost (5/5)
10. Lightning Bulb (3.5/5)
11. What If I Knew (4/5)

Leave a Reply

