News Bits: eMusic to add Sony catalog


Thanks to Glorious Noise for the heads up on this one.

Looks like the internet’s corner record shop is going big time. And my gut tells me it’s bad news for the company and its core customers.

While they will be adding a whole slew of great artists from Sony’s vaults (Springsteen, Pearl Jam, Modest Mouse, Michael Jackson, and the Foo Fighters to name a few), but it’s all going to come with a cost. Right now, I get 50 downloads a month at $14.99. I have been able to download so much great music this way that I was quickly becoming an emusic loyalist.  But as of July, I’ll only be getting 37 downloads for the same price. Sure, that’s  still less than half of what I’d pay for a track anywhere else (40.5 cents to be exact), but really it just feels like I’m losing 13 tracks a month.

The upside is of course the ability to download tracks by these artists at the much lower price, and I suspect that this will allow eMusic to cut into the market share of (b)I(g)Tunes, but I have a really bad feeling that this will not end well for eMusic. I suppose if eMusic manages to force competitors down to 50 cents a track over the longhaul then they’ve accomplished something pretty special, but that seems incredibly unlikely to me.

What seems much more likely is that eMusic will slowly homogenize with the rest of the industry and (a) be bought out in the next few years or (b) become just like everyone else. I just can’t help but feel they are abandoning their niche, and that there is no possible way for this to end well for the obsessive music fan, except that maybe the slowly rising prices will force us all to get a life. : (

For the time being, I’ll capitalize on what I can and download a whole bunch of great music from Sony’s extensive catalog. eMusic is still the best legal mp3 site on the web. But all in all, this feels like a really bad day.

2 Responses to News Bits: eMusic to add Sony catalog

  1. FYI says:

    Your link to Glorious Noise is broken… change it to:

    http://www.gloriousnoise.com/shorties/2009/are_the_major_labels_starting.php

    and it will work. 😉

    It currently has an extra “http” in it:

    http://http//www.gloriousnoise.com/shorties/2009/are_the_major_labels_starting.php

Leave a Reply

