My Morning Jacket: The Tennessee Fire (1999)


My Morning Jacket
The Tennessee Fire; 2000
Darla Records
My Rating: 100/100
Quite simply: A masterpiece
I’m a huge fan of My Morning Jacket, and it’s been exciting to see them grow into rock n’ roll superheroes over the last decade. They’ve released a lot of amazing stuff along the way, and I just have to acknowledge that. But for this Jacket devotee, it doesn’t get any better than THE TENNESSEE FIRE. Their 2000 debut may not be the record they are most remembered for, but if I’m being honest, everything that is weird and wonderful about MMJ is contained here in prototypical form. TTF is a feast of mystical, sleepy-eyed cosmic americana. Though the country influences are undeniable, from old Johnny Cash to Neil Young, the album completely transcends the early alt-country label for so many reasons. There’s Jim James’ intergalactic wail on “The Bear” and “Twilight”; the stark, post-apocalyptic landscapes on “They Ran” and “I Think I’m Going to Hell”; the pacifying loveliness of “Old September Blues” and “I Will Be There When You Die”; and the heart-rending romance of “If All Else Fails” and “Picture of You.” Call it what you will. Escapist. Nightmarish. Numinous. Haunting. Dreamy. Transcendent. I call it a masterpiece.
Cohesion (5/5)
Concept (5/5)
Consequence (5/5)
Consistency (5/5)
Tracks:
1. Heartbreakin Man (5/5)
2. They Ran (5/5)
3. The Bear (5/5)
4. Nashville to Kentucky (5/5)
5. Old September Blues (5/5)
6. If All Else Fails (5/5)
7. It’s About Twilight Now (5/5)
8. Evelyn Is Not Real (5/5)
9. War Begun (5/5)
10. Picture of You (5/5)
11. I Will Be There When You Die (5/5)
12. The Dark (5/5)
13. By My Car (5/5)
14. Butch Cassidy (5/5)
15. I Think I’m Going To Hell (5/5)
16. (hidden track) (5/5)My Morning Jacket

Mmj_the_tennessee_fireMy Morning Jacket
The Tennessee Fire; 1999
Darla Records

My Rating: 100/100

Time has only been kind to this debut…

I’m a huge fan of My Morning Jacket, and it’s been exciting to see them grow into rock n’ roll superheroes over the last decade. They’ve released a lot of amazing stuff along the way, and I just have to acknowledge that. But for this Jacket devotee, it doesn’t get any better than THE TENNESSEE FIRE. Their 2000 debut may not be the record they are most remembered for, but if I’m being honest, everything that is weird and wonderful about MMJ is contained here in prototypical form. TTF is a feast of mystical, sleepy-eyed cosmic americana. Though the country influences are undeniable, from old Johnny Cash to Neil Young, the album completely transcends the early alt-country label for so many reasons. There’s Jim James’ intergalactic wail on “The Bear” and “Twilight”; the stark, post-apocalyptic landscapes on “They Ran” and “I Think I’m Going to Hell”; the pacifying loveliness of “Old September Blues” and “I Will Be There When You Die”; and the heart-rending romance of “If All Else Fails” and “Picture of You.” Call it what you will. Escapist. Nightmarish. Numinous. Haunting. Dreamy. Transcendent. I call it a masterpiece.

Cohesion (5/5)
Concept (5/5)
Consequence (5/5)
Consistency (5/5)

Tracks:

1. Heartbreakin Man (5/5)
2. They Ran (5/5)
3. The Bear (5/5)
4. Nashville to Kentucky (5/5)
5. Old September Blues (5/5)
6. If All Else Fails (5/5)
7. It’s About Twilight Now (5/5)
8. Evelyn Is Not Real (5/5)
9. War Begun (5/5)
10. Picture of You (5/5)
11. I Will Be There When You Die (5/5)
12. The Dark (5/5)
13. By My Car (5/5)
14. Butch Cassidy (5/5)
15. I Think I’m Going To Hell (5/5)
16. (hidden track – Alabama Come Clean) (5/5)

One Response to My Morning Jacket: The Tennessee Fire (1999)

  1. Pingback: Quick Review (LP): Circuital by My Morning Jacket « Sweet Georgia Breezes

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

